You can upload a new version of a file to keep all your revisions in one place and to access notes from the review process. In this article, you will learn how to upload the latest version of a file, how to access older versions, and how to use MediaSilo’s commenting tools to track changes between versions.

Create a New Version

Access Different Versions in Projects

Access Different Versions in Review Links

Create a New Version

You can create a version when you upload your latest file, or after the file has already been uploaded. Whichever option you choose, the newest version of a file is automatically displayed in any Review Link or Presentation that contains the file.

Upload a New Version from Your Computer

To upload a new version of a file, start by opening the original file in Projects. Then, open the right drawer by clicking the arrow icon in the top right corner. Go to the last tab in the drawer to access the Versions tab.

Next, click the blue plus button at the top of the right drawer. This will prompt you to select the file you want to upload as a new version.

Once you select a file, enter a name for this version. When you are done, click the blue Confirm button.

The upload/download window automatically opens, so you can track your upload progress. You can open and close this window by clicking the up and down arrows in the left-side navigation bar.

When the upload is complete, your newest version is listed at the top of the Versions tab.

As an alternative, you can upload a new version by dragging and dropping a file from your computer onto the original file in Projects. This has the same effect as clicking the blue plus button and selecting the file from your computer.

Create Versions with Files You Already Uploaded

You can create new versions using files you already uploaded to Projects. Whether you are in grid view or list view, drag the newer file directly onto the original file.

This opens a window where you enter a name for the new version. Click Confirm to complete the action.

Note that you cannot drag one versioned asset onto another versioned asset.

How Can I Tell if a File Has Multiple Versions?

In grid view, a version icon in the bottom right corner of a file’s thumbnail indicates that a file is versioned.

In list view, the Version column indicates how many versions of a file are available. “V1” means that no versions have been added to the original file that was uploaded to Projects.

If you do not see a Version column, click the gear icon on the right to make sure “Version” is checked off.

The Size that is indicated in both list view and grid view is the size of the current version.

When you open a file, go to the Versions tab in the right drawer to access all its versions.

Access Different Versions in Projects

When you open a file with multiple versions, the latest version appears by default. Your older versions are still accessible from the Versions tab. First, open the right drawer, and then go to the last tab. Click on whichever version you want to view.

Restore a Version

Your latest version appears by default, but in some cases, you may want to take a previous version and “restore” it as the default version. To restore a version, click the three-dots button next to a version’s name and select “Restore Version.”

Now, whenever you open the file, the restored version will appear by default. Note that the latest version you uploaded is not deleted. All versions remain accessible from the Versions tab. The Restore option simply changes which version appears by default when you open a file.

Remove a Version

You can delete an older version of a file by clicking the three-dots button next to the version’s name and selecting “Remove Version.”

This will permanently delete the version you selected. The deleted version will no longer be accessible anywhere in Projects.

Access Different Versions in Review Links

In a Review Link, you can access different versions by clicking the blue "V" button next to the file name and selecting a version from the menu.

To view the comments made in the review process, click the speech bubble in the top right. The speech bubble opens and closes the comments drawer, which displays comments for whichever version is currently selected.

Keep the comments drawer open as you switch between versions. This will allow you to compare notes between versions and see how notes were addressed in newer versions.

Note that you can only make comments on the latest version of a file. Comments made on previous versions are read-only.

If a file has lots of comments, you may consider “resolving” any comments that have been addressed or are no longer relevant. To mark a comment as resolved, click the blank circle next to the comment.

Resolved comments are still accessible by clicking the filter icon next to the search bar and selecting “Show resolved.”

Comment Visibility

Every Review Link has a setting that will determine which comments are displayed in the Comments section. This setting is called “On this link only.”

“On this link only” applies to links with and without versioned files.

When “On this link only” is turned on, the comments made on a file are self-contained in the Review Link. This means that any comments made here are not visible in Projects (via Review Mode) or in other Review Links that contain the same file. Only the comments made in this specific Review Link are displayed, and those comments are only visible to people with access to the Review Link.

When “On this link only” is turned off, the comments section contains any comments made on this file via the Review Link, in-project Review Mode, and any other Review Link that has this setting turned off.

Did this answer your question?